4 stars for Rachel White’s Blood Tells (Less Than Three Press LLC)

Rachel White’s Blood Tells is the first gay novel I’ve read in quite a while, and I’m glad I did. I read it in two sittings – I would have read it in one but was interrupted mid-book – and did NOT figure out who the primary antagonist was until the hero did. That’s one thing I liked about the book. Clues abound and none of them are misleading, but the mystery remains until it’s solved.

I also like that the adventure/suspense and romantic plots of Blood Tells grow entirely out of the characters’ motivations, personalities, and histories. The characters are well drawn, interesting, likeable, and relatively complex, though I do wonder a bit that, although fathers are present, no mothers are. This could be an interesting feature of this fantasy world, where sorcerers are abundant but suspect, the monarchy and army and buildings feel feudal, and spells and curses mix equally with guns and trolleys, but both the fantasy elements and the setting in general feel far less important than the characters and plots.

In any case, I’ll be watching for more from Rachel White.

 

Leave a Reply

